• Joy of Reading 2021
  • The nominees
  • Collaboration with Next Library
  • Applications are now closed
  • The Jury
  • News and cases

Systematic - Joy of Reading

The Joy of Reading Award is an international award intended to recognise initiatives or projects that encourage citizens to read. 

Access to information and the fight against illiteracy are very important, and the United Nations’ 2030 goals with regard to education therefore also form the basis for this award.

Illiteracy is a global problem that must be addressed. We want to highlight the work of different projects that are helping to make a difference. This goes hand in hand with Systematic corporate values about contributing to society.

The nominees for the Systematic Joy of Reading Award 2021 have been selected

woman hugging children

Through focusing on the joy of reading and making a difference in the world, six reading projects have just been nominated for the Systematic Joy of Reading Award 2021 and USD 10,000 in prize money.

The projects are being run in various continents, and come from the following countries: the Netherlands, Jordan, Peru, South Africa, Uganda and Denmark.

Collaboration with Next Library ®

The award is etablished by Systematic in collaboration with Next Library® – a conference at which library professionals from around the world meet every two years. The award will be handed over again in June 2021 at the Next Library in Aarhus, Denmark. Learn more about Next Library 2021.

The award is accompanied by a $10.000 cash money prize and is awarded by an international jury, who will assess all the applications received, select the nominees and the eventual winner. 

The award was presented for the very first time in 2017 at the Next Library Conference in Denmark by Princess Laurentien of the Netherlands, founder of The Reading and Writing Foundation. In June 2019, the award was presented by the President of IFLA, Glòria Pérez-Salmerón.

Applications are now closed

blue logo with a globe and books

Thank you for your interest in the Joy of Reading Award. We have received many applications and we are grateful for your support.

We have now closed the applications.

The nominees for the award will be announced in May and the winner will be announced online in June to Next Library Festival 2021 in Aarhus, Danmark.

Systematic - Joy of Reading Award The jury consists of:

  • Marian Morgan-Bindon, Freelance Librarian and longtime member of IFLA, Australia. Chairman of Systematic - Joy of Reading Award.
  • Kirsten Boelt, head of the libraries in Aalborg, Denmark.
  • Magdeline Mooketsi, Librarian, Gaborone Public Library, Botswana.
  • Sanjana Shrestha, CEO, READ Global.
  • Stacie Ledden, Director of Strategic Partnerships, Anythink Libraries, Denver, US.
  • Martin Brøchner-Mortensen, Group Senior Vice President of Systematic, Denmark. 

Processing of data

Data and received material are processed in accordance with Systematic's data policy. 

Regard any questions of yours please contact us.