The President of IFLA will present the Joy of Reading Award 2019

As the President for IFLA, Glòria Pérez-Salmerón understands the importance of contributing in the fight against illiteracy. In June 2019, she will present the Systematic - Joy of Reading Award - at Next Library in Aarhus, Denmark.

05 March 2019

Systematic wishes to make a difference in society, why the 'Joy of Reading' award is very relevant for the company's vision. The Joy of Reading award is an internaitonal award intended to recognise initiatives or projects that encourage citizens to read. 

As part of Next Library in June, IFLA's President Glòria Pérez-Salmerón will present the award and hand over the prize to the winning project.  

Gloria -perez -salmeron -presentation _1200x 628

Glòria Pérez-Salmerón, President of IFLA

Glòria Pérez-Salmerón's hard work and effort for the future

As President of IFLA from 2017-2019, Glòria Pérez-Salmerón fights for equal access to information and knowledge. Glòria strives for a significant change in our mindset, when it comes to topics such as Information Literacy, Digital Transformation, Innovation and Digital Preservation. As an advocate for innovative mindset regarding the future of libraries, Glòria believes that this commitment will be achieved through hard and passionated work. Both her and IFLA work by the motto: "Libraries are the motor for change!"

Glòrias work and perspectives on the importance of the future of libraries goes hand in hand with the purpose of the Joy of Reading award. Like Glòria, we wish to support projects and initiatives that help in the fight against illiteracy, and therefore we are thrilled by her involvement in presenting the prize.

Joy of Reading

With the Joy of Reading award, Systematic has the opportunity to inspire reading. To have the drive to read will affect both what and how much, we choose to read. Reading strengthens our minds and enables us to handle complex issues and situations, which is a necessity for our society to function. Innovative ideas and thoughts on promoting the joy of reading are new ways to join in the fight against illiteracy, worldwide. 

The award is established by Systematic in collaboration with Next Library® – a conference at which library professionals from around the world meet every two years. The award will be handed over again in June 2019 at the Next Library in Aarhus, Denmark. Learn more about Next Library 2019.

An international jury will assess all the applications received, select the nominees and the eventual winner. The award will be handed over again in June 2019 at the Next Library in Aarhus, Denmark, by Glòria Pérez-Salmerón, current President of IFLA. The application period has already begun and runs until March 15th 2019. Since the award is international, we accept applications from all around the world. 

For more information about the Joy of Reading award, learn more here.