The Joy of Reading Award is an international award intended to recognise initiatives or projects that encourage citizens to read. 

Access to information and the fight against illiteracy are very important, and the United Nations’ 2030 goals with regard to education therefore also form the basis for this award.

Illiteracy is a global problem that must be addressed. We want to highlight the work of different projects that are helping to make a difference. This goes hand in hand with Systematic corporate values about contributing to society.

For me, reading means...

Reading experiences can look very different, depending on where in the world you live.
These are three people’s descriptions of their experiences and the benefits of reading when they were young. Read their stories: 

Joyofreading Text

The award

The award is etablished by Systematic in collaboration with Next Library® – a conference at which library professionals from around the world meet every two years. 

An international jury will assess all the applications received, selecting the nominees and the eventual winner. 

The award will be presented for the very first time in 2017 at the Next Library Conference to be held in Denmark by Princess Laurentien of the Netherlands, founder of The Reading and Writing Foundation.

We are open for applications from 1 November 2016 to 1 March 2017. We recommend that you download the application form below and saves it on your own PC. Fill out the form afterwards and send it to 

Please notice, that all applications must be submitted in English. 

LL Download Form And Apply 736

Meet the jury:

  • Marian Morgan-Bindon, City Librarian, City of Gold Coast, Australia, Chair IFLA Public Libraries Section Standing Committee, (Chairman of jury for the Systematic – Joy of Reading Award )
  • Bill Macnaught, National Librarian, National Library of New Zealand 
  • Viviana Quiñones, International Officer, Bibliotheque nationale de France / Centre national de la littérature pour la jeunesse, Member of IFLA Professional Committee and Governing Board 
  • Henriette Romme Lund, Consultant at The National Centre for Reading, University Colleges Denmark
  • Kirsten Boelt, Head of Aalborg Public Libraries, Denmark, Member Governing Board IFLA
  • Martin Brøchner-Mortensen, Head of Library & Learning business unit in Systematic, Denmark

Criteria for determining the winner: 

  • Joy of reading has to be an important part of the initiative
  • The effect of the initiative must be documented by number of people reached and either a case storie or research
  • The initiative must make use of innovative methods and/or thinking
  • The initiative must have been up and running for at least two years


Text Joy Of Reading


LL Contact Recovered

LL Download Brochure

AcceptWe use cookies to improve the usability of our website and to measure traffic. By visiting, you accept our use of cookiesMore info